APEC Cooperation for Earthquake Science


Date:2020-01-08 01:01:16  Author:ACES  Source:ACES  Views:


Earth Systems Science Computational Centre (ESSCC), The University of Queensland :

ESSCC, formerly named Queensland University Advanced Centre for Earthquake Studies (QUAKES), conducts research on the physics of earthquakes and solid earth processes from the micro to global scales using supercomputer simulation. Earthquake nucleation and fault behaviour is controlled by microscopic interactions and group behaviour of rock grains along faults. The QUAKES group of ESSCC is focussed on simulation based research to study the nonlinear physics of interacting fault systems and micro-mechanics of fault zones. Part of this work aims to fill a fundamental gap in the knowledge of the earthquake generation process by developing a microscopic based numerical simulation capability (LSMearth).

■ Solid Mechanics Group (CSIRO) and Centre for Industrial Solid Mechanics (UWA/CSIRO)

Geoscience Australia (GA)

Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST)



■ Institute of Earthquake Prediction, China Earthquake Administration:

The China Earthquake Administration has extensive observations of seismic precursory phenomena and the Institute of Earthquake Prediction has developed preliminary models for earthquake prediction in the months to one year time frame.

Laboratory of Nonlinear Mechanics (LNM)Institute of MechanicsChinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

■ Institute of Geophysics, China Earthquake Administration

Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Peking University



Centre of Excellence for Predictability of the Evolution and Variation of the Multi-scale Earth System, Tokyo University:

A new integrated CoE for observational and computational earth science with the objective of building an advanced research and education sytem that can promote effectively study of future variations predictability of a multi-sphere earth system in which processes with different rules intertwine intricately in different space-time scales, based upon verification of necessity and randomness of the earth evolution process.

Research Organisation for Information Science and Technology (RIST):

Governmental organisation responsible for the national Earth Simulator Project in Japan under Science and Technology Agency to model earth processes (ocean, atmosphere, solid-earth).

■ Crustal Activity Modelling Program (CAMP):

Multi-institutional program within Japan's Earth Simulator Project. Institutions: Tokyo UniversityEarthquake Research Institute, Geographical Survey of Japan, Building Research Institute, National Research Institute for Earth Science and Natural Disaster Prevention. The Crustal Activity Modelling Program aims to develop models for the earthquake generation process and earthquake cycle at the crustal scale including quasi-static stress build-up and nucleation.

■ Strong Motion Modelling Program (SMMP):

Multi-institutional program within Japan's Earth Simulator Project. Institutions: Nagoya University, Kyushu University, Hokkaido University of Education, Meteorological Research Institute, and Chiba University. The Strong Motion Modelling Program aims to develop models for the earthquake generation process at the crustal scale including dynamic rupture and strong motion.

National GeoFEM Group:

The GeoFEM group conduct computational research and develop superparallel software associated with the solid-earth groups (CAMP and SMMP) within Japan's Earth Simulator Project. Institutions: RIST, STA, Yokohama National University, and the Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN).

Science and Technology Agency (STA):

Governmental agency for science and technology in Japan that is responsible for the Earth Simulator Project.




Earth and Space Sciences Division, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology. See also NASA JPL Solid Earth Science Working Groupand Space and Earth Sciences Directorate.

California Institute for Hazards Research

University of California Research Institute focussed on the understanding and prediction of natural hazards and the ways to reduce their impact on society

Community Grids Lab, Indiana University

Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC):

Multi-institutional center. Institutions: University of Southern California, California Institute of Technology, Columbia University, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, San Diego State University, UCLA, University of California San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC Santa Barbara, University of Nevada, US Geological Survey, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

General Earthquake Models Group (GEM) (See also GEM/NPAC):

Multi-institutional multi-disciplinary national program. Institutions: Centre for Chaos and Complexity, Colorado University, University of California, Los Alamos National Laboratories, Stanford University, UC Santa Barbara, UCLA, USC, SCEC, San Diego Supercomputer Centre, Institute for Geophysics and Planetary Physics, Centre for Advanced Computing Research, NASA JPL, LLNL, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Boston University, Brown University, Cornell University, Northeast Parallel Architectures Centre, Syracuse University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The GEM group is focussed on developing simulation models at the crustal scale with emphasis on the California interacting fault system.

Harvard U. Earthquake Modeling Group

Center for Nonlinear Earth SystemsLamont Doherty Earth Institute

Seismological Laboratory, University of Nevada, Reno



评论已有 0


Hot Keywords

Latest News

ACES Workshop-2011